NovAsia

Phnom Penh Furniture Packages vs Independent Fit-Out

Published · Updated

What a “full furniture package” actually includes

“Full furniture package” is not a standard specification in Phnom Penh. A useful public example is RF City’s 53 sq m one-bedroom. A Baza Nova article dated 2 February 2026 says the base handover is already finished and includes the built-in kitchen, plumbing, air conditioning and a water heater, while loose furniture is excluded. Those base-handover items therefore should not be charged to either furnishing route a second time.

The same article lists a $3,000 furniture-and-appliance package for the one-bedroom. Its stated contents are a sofa, coffee table, TV unit, bed, mattress, bedside table, wardrobe, dining table and chairs, refrigerator, television, washing machine, curtains and lamps. That list is far more useful than the word “full”: it tells a buyer which functions are actually covered across the bedroom, living area, dining area and core appliances.

The $3,000 figure still has a material evidence limit. It comes from a commercial industry publication, not from a current RF City quotation, furniture schedule or contract appendix. The public description does not identify appliance models, furniture materials, delivery and assembly terms, warranty responsibility or the tax status of the quoted price. It is therefore a documented example to test, not a binding September 2026 offer and not a verified replacement value.

Another Phnom Penh supplier illustrates why labels alone are unreliable. Urban Home KH calls its Signature 2-Bed package move-in ready and includes furniture, blackout curtains, a 43-inch LG smart TV, washer, fridge and three air conditioners, yet the page still tells the buyer to bring linen and kitchenware and excludes decorative accessories. That package also advertises a five-year warranty, a supplier-specific service promise that should not be treated as a citywide norm. The practical definition of “full” is whatever the dated schedule actually says.

How to compare both options on a like-for-like basis

A fair comparison starts by removing everything already supplied with the apartment. In the available RF City description, the built-in kitchen, plumbing, air conditioning and water heater belong to the base handover, so none of them is added to the furnishing bill. The basket is limited to the functions named in the separate package: sleeping, storage, living-room seating and tables, dining, TV, refrigerator, washing machine, curtains and lighting.

For an independent route, current Phnom Penh listings allow a transparent replacement basket to be assembled. The furniture side uses a $705 Bruno sofa, a $162 JAKOBSFORS coffee table, a $340 Gautier TV unit, a $650 Gautier bed, a Sleeper A mattress listed at $199–$350 depending on size, a $160 Talia side table, a $789 PAX/HASVIK wardrobe and a $338 NÄSINGE table with two chairs. The appliance reference set is Samsung: a 203-litre refrigerator at $275, a 43-inch smart TV at $272 and an 8 kg front-loading washer at $359.10. The RF City article does not state the number of dining chairs; the retail reference uses a two-chair set.

Those published prices add up to $4,249.10–$4,400.10. The figure is deliberately labelled a retail subtotal, not a finished fit-out quote. Equivalent curtains and lamps are still missing, tax treatment is not normalised across sellers, and mixed-source delivery or assembly charges are not all published. The Talia side table is listed as a display item, while Komnit notes that online prices can change by order date and gives 7–14 day delivery windows for several of the selected products.

This is also not a quality-matched basket. RF City’s public package description does not disclose furniture materials or appliance models, so the retail selection only matches the required functions. A percentage saving would imply comparability that the evidence does not support. Once a current package schedule supplies brand, size, material, warranty and service details, the same exercise can be repeated with genuinely comparable products.

Same basket: developer package vs independent fit-out

The reference is the published RF City 53 sq m one-bedroom example. The package price comes from a 2 February 2026 article; retail listings were checked on 29 September 2026. The baskets match functions, not proven quality.

Scenario 1 / 2

Developer package

Base handover
Kitchen, plumbing, AC and water heater already stated in handover
Furniture
Sofa, coffee table, TV unit, bed, mattress, bedside table, wardrobe, dining set
Appliances
Fridge, TV and washer; models not stated
Curtains and lighting
Included in the published list
Delivery and assembly
Not specified in the public package description
Warranty
Term and responsible party not stated
Price
$3,000 in a secondary source dated 2 Feb 2026
Still missing
Linen and kitchenware are not listed
Scenario 2 / 2

Independent

Base handover
Not purchased again
Furniture
Same functions using selected Ordinaire, Komnit and Diamond Bedding items
Appliances
Samsung: 203 L fridge $275 + 43-in TV $272 + 8 kg washer $359.10
Curtains and lighting
Not priced: window dimensions and lamp specification required
Delivery and assembly
Terms vary by seller; no single combined charge published
Warranty
Depends on the product and supplier
Price
$4,249.10–$4,400.10 before curtains, lighting and some services
Still missing
The same household essentials must be added for the chosen use case

Where the price difference actually comes from

The biggest price movement often sits inside the specification of a single category. The reference Bruno sofa is $705 and is described with a solid pine frame and high-resilience foam. In the same Phnom Penh store, a two-seat Toasty is listed at $910 and a three-seat version at $1,290. The line item still says “sofa,” but the budget can move by hundreds of dollars before any developer margin is considered.

Mattresses create the same issue. Diamond Bedding lists the Sleeper A Bonnell-spring mattress at $199–$350 depending on size. Without the size and model of the RF City mattress, there is no defensible one-number retail equivalent. For an owner-occupier, mattress choice can also matter more to daily use than spending the same amount on a more elaborate bed frame.

Large storage pieces are another major driver. The reference basket uses a $789 PAX/HASVIK wardrobe, a $650 Gautier bed and a $340 Gautier TV unit. Those listings disclose dimensions or construction details; the public RF City package list only names the categories. A larger wardrobe, different board specification or more substantial bed can account for a meaningful part of a price gap without changing the headline list of included items.

Appliances are easier to benchmark when a model number exists. Our retail set uses a 43-inch Samsung TV at $272, a 203-litre Samsung refrigerator at $275 and an 8 kg Samsung front-loader at $359.10. KFour also lists a 305-litre Samsung fridge at $377. A seemingly small specification choice can therefore change the appliance total by more than $100 while both quotations simply say “refrigerator.”

That is why $3,000 versus roughly $4.25k–$4.40k is not evidence of developer markup or an automatic package bargain. Some of the gap may be product grade, some may be service, and some may be genuine pricing efficiency. The split only becomes measurable when the package discloses the specifications behind each line.

Delivery, installation and warranty beyond the sticker price

Shelf price and installed-apartment cost are different numbers. The public RF City package description does not say who delivers the furniture, carries it into the unit, assembles it, connects appliances or removes packaging. If all of that is genuinely included in the $3,000 and one party owns the outcome, the service has real value. If those steps are charged separately, the comparison changes.

Independent purchasing produces a patchwork of service terms. Several Komnit items show roughly 7–14 day delivery and list delivery and assembly services, while also warning that the website price may differ at order time. Diamond Bedding states that its mattress includes free delivery and installation within Phnom Penh and says it aims to deliver local orders within 24 hours. Those examples are too different for a defensible blanket “logistics percentage.”

A fit-out supplier can consolidate that work. Urban Home KH describes a process covering selection, coordinated delivery, professional assembly, handover and warranty documentation; its Signature package advertises a five-year warranty. Those are that supplier’s terms, not evidence that every developer package in Phnom Penh carries the same service or warranty.

For an overseas owner, paying more to have one accountable counterparty can be rational if the responsibility is actually written into the quotation. A buyer on the ground may accept more coordination in exchange for control over every product. Either way, compare gross-to-gross figures: a tax-inclusive quotation should not be set against a tax-exclusive one and treated as a genuine price difference.

Benefits and limitations

In its favour
  • Developer package — one purchase and potentially one accountable party if delivery, assembly and warranty are genuinely included.
  • Developer package — the RF City example already lists curtains and lamps, items that often require separate measuring and ordering.
  • Independent fit-out — the buyer can choose mattress size, furniture materials and exact appliance models instead of accepting an unknown specification.
  • Independent fit-out — spending can be shifted by category, for example prioritising the mattress or storage while simplifying less important items.
Watch out
  • Developer package — the public RF City example omits brands, materials, warranty and full service terms, so the price cannot yet be fully matched.
  • Developer package — “full” does not guarantee linen, tableware or kitchenware, as other Phnom Penh packages also demonstrate.
  • Independent fit-out — multiple sellers mean different lead times, warranties and deliveries, with more coordination for the buyer.
  • Independent fit-out — listed prices can change, while curtains, lighting, installation and tax may sit outside the first subtotal.

What may still be missing from a “move-in-ready” unit

For an owner-occupier, the published RF City list covers the large furniture and main appliances but does not name bed linen, pillows, cookware, tableware, cutlery or the loose household items needed for day-to-day use. That does not prove every one of those items is absent from a unit today; it means the available package description does not promise them. They should not be counted as included before the current schedule says so.

A small part of the gap can be priced without inventing an average household basket. Diamond Bedding currently lists a $65 bedding set containing a bedsheet, blanket, two pillowcases and two bolster cases. Its microfiber pillow is $10. One set plus two pillows therefore creates a documented $85 minimum after the bed and mattress have already been purchased.

The $85 figure is not the total cost of making the apartment genuinely ready for daily living. Cookware, plates, cutlery, hangers, bins, a drying rack and cleaning supplies are outside that subtotal. A complete, like-for-like current quote for that loose household set is not available here, so assigning a flat allowance would create false precision.

Urban Home KH makes the boundary unusually explicit: its own move-in-ready Signature package still tells buyers to bring linen and kitchenware, with separate add-ons available for those categories. A useful budget therefore needs a line called “after the package.” For this example, $85 is the priced portion we can document; the remaining amount depends on the actual handover list and the owner’s living requirements.

What is missing before the first night?

Complete0 of 4
What is missing before the first night?Checklist0 of 4

When a package is simpler — and when independent fit-out makes sense

A package is most compelling for an overseas buyer when one dated document fixes the contents, delivery date, assembly, appliance connection and warranty responsibility. In that case, a modest premium over self-sourcing may simply be the price of coordination and accountability. If those obligations are not written down, the convenience is still a sales promise, not a measurable service.

Independent fit-out suits a buyer who cares about the exact mattress, fridge capacity, washer model or wardrobe construction. It is not automatically the cheaper path. The retail basket used here already reaches about $4.25k–$4.40k before several missing categories, although it cannot be treated as quality-equivalent to RF City. Savings only appear when the buyer deliberately selects lower-cost substitutes, removes unnecessary items or negotiates individual purchases.

For a long-term rental, the priorities can shift again. Expensive decorative finishes may matter less than a durable mattress, useful storage, a serviceable washing machine and furniture that is easy to replace. When two genuinely comparable quotations are close, handover speed and a clear warranty route may matter more than the last few hundred dollars. An owner-occupier may rationally spend more time to get personal comfort choices right.

A package included in the apartment price or offered as a “free” promotion needs one more distinction. The seller’s stated package value is not automatically a cash saving. Replacement cost should be estimated from the actual contents, and the buyer should establish whether declining the package changes the apartment price. Without that alternative, the useful question is what the unit will contain and what still has to be bought before it works for the intended use.

Which option fits your situation

Suggested next stepDeveloper package — if service is complete

Works when one party is contractually responsible for delivery, assembly, connections and warranty.

Suggested next stepIndependent fit-out

Gives control over sizes, materials and models, with more coordination required.

Suggested next stepPrice two matched baskets first

Self-sourcing is not automatically cheaper; the selected retail basket already exceeds the published $3,000 figure.

Suggested next stepRoute with the better timing and replacement balance

Durable essentials and a clear warranty route matter more than costly decor with no proven rental return.

Suggested next stepValue the replacement basket, not the headline discount

The bonus value only means something when contents are known and the buyer knows whether declining it reduces the apartment price.

Expert view

Elvira Shamuratova

I treat a furniture package as a set of responsibilities; the word “full” is not a promise of a standard scope. A small premium can be sensible for an overseas owner when one party is genuinely responsible for delivery, installation and warranty issues. If brands, materials or inclusions are vague, a percentage comparison creates more precision than the documents justify. Break the offer into items first, remove anything already included in the base handover, and only then compare price and service.

Elvira Shamuratova
NovAsia Cambodia expert
Expert profile →

Sources and check dates

Show sources and methodology5 checked sources
  • What furniture and appliance packages do developers offer in Phnom Penh?

    Commercial article dated 2 February 2026: provides the stated $3,000 RF City one-bedroom package, its contents and the described base handover. It is a secondary source, so the figure is not treated as a current developer offer.

  • Urban Home KH — Our Services

    Supports the fit-out service model: selection, supply, coordinated delivery, assembly, handover and warranty documentation.

  • Urban Home KH — Signature 2-Bed

    Shows a specific package with furniture, curtains and appliances, excludes decorative items, states that linen and kitchenware remain separate, and advertises a five-year warranty.

  • Ordinaire Phnom Penh — BRUNO SOFA

    Retail sofa reference at $705 with published frame and cushioning specifications.

  • Ordinaire Phnom Penh — TALIA SIDE TABLE (ST-10) - Display

    Provides the $160 reference for the side table; the listing is marked as a display item, so availability must be rechecked.

A practical second opinion

Need to check a specific condo?

Send the unit link, price and your goal. We will separate the documented facts from the points that still need a unit-level check.

What to send: link, budget and target date