Phnom Penh Condo Common-Area Fee Comparison
Published · Updated
Why the Same Headline Rate Can Produce a Different Bill
A fee of $1.20 per square metre can produce two very different annual bills. The first question is not the rate but the area to which it is applied. At the same $1.20 rate, a 60 m² charge on net area costs $864 a year, while an 80 m² charge on gross area costs $1,152. That $288 gap appears before parking, utilities or any reserve contribution is added.
This is why the floor area shown in a sales listing cannot automatically be used for service-charge budgeting. Phnom Penh property pages use both net and gross measurements, while a building’s own rules may refer to the registered private-unit area or another defined billing area. Those numbers are not interchangeable. A source that gives a dollar rate per square metre but does not identify the area basis can still describe that building’s headline fee, but it cannot support a precise cross-building calculation.
The content of the fee also changes the result. Some buildings report a sinking fund separately, some state that it is included in the management fee, and some public pages do not disclose a fund at all. Parking, electricity, water, internet and optional resident services may sit outside the common-area charge as well. A lower headline rate therefore does not establish a lower total ownership cost, just as a higher rate does not establish better management.
There is also a fundamental evidence difference between an operating condominium and an off-plan project. A completed building can have actual invoices, management notices and a history of revisions. Before handover, a published fee is a projected commercial term. It can be useful for planning, but it should not be presented as an observed operating cost.
What Comparable Phnom Penh Condos Charge
Public sources checked on 29 September 2026 show a wide range of quoted common-area fees, but they do not support a single “Phnom Penh average.” The problem is not only that few buildings are directly comparable. Several buildings do not disclose the billing-area definition, some have conflicting live figures, and projected fees for developments under construction cannot be treated as operating evidence.
Three operating buildings provide both the rate and the charge base, which is enough for a limited annual-cost illustration. Romduol City reports $1.10 per m² of net area per month, CASA by Meridian reports $1.20 per m² of gross area, and a recent The Peninsula resale listing reports $1.50 per m² on gross area. When the unit of comparison is one square metre of the area actually charged by each building—not the advertised sale area—the observed low is $1.10, the median is $1.20 and the high is $1.50 per month. Dropping the low and high leaves $1.20, but with only three buildings that is a limited sensitivity check, not evidence of a citywide norm.
The wider public picture is less directly comparable. Royal Platinum Condominium quotes $0.70 per m² for residential units without defining the area basis in that line. The Bridge Residence reports $1.60 per m² and says the sinking fund is included, but its public building card does not identify whether the charge uses net, gross or another area. Vue Aston quotes $1.38 per m² plus a $1.50 per m² sinking-fund charge every six months, again without a stated area basis for the fee. These figures help explain different charging structures, but they cannot be folded into the same like-for-like range without qualification.
Some buildings have outright public conflicts. An IPS listing for J Tower 1 shows a $1.00 per m² management fee and a $0.50 per m² sinking fund, while CAM Realty reports $1.50 and $0.30 respectively. Agile Sky Residence has current CAM Realty pages showing $1.20 per m² on net area and other pages showing $1.38 per m² without the same basis label. Averaging either pair would create a number that no source actually states, so both buildings stay outside the like-for-like calculation until a current management document resolves the discrepancy.
Off-plan fees are kept outside the operating calculation. Time Square 8 is quoted at $0.80 per m² on gross area, but the building has not yet reached handover and public pages also differ on the expected completion timing. For a buyer, that rate is a planning input, not a record of what owners are currently being billed. The result here is therefore a limited comparison of publicly documented building fees, not a statistical description of the whole Phnom Penh condominium market.
Comparable Fees by Building
Checked 29 September 2026. These are publicly reported building and broker figures, not substitutes for the latest management invoice or fee notice. Conflicting and projected rates are labelled rather than blended.
Recurring fee
- Royal Platinum Condominium
- $0.70/m²/month
- Romduol City
- $1.10/m²/month
- CASA by Meridian
- $1.20/m²/month
- Agile Sky Residence
- $1.20 or $1.38/m²
- Vue Aston
- $1.38/m²/month
- The Peninsula
- $1.50/m²/month
- The Bridge Residence
- $1.60/m²/month
- J Tower 1
- $1.00 or $1.50/m²
- Time Square 8
- $0.80/m²/month
Basis & fund
- Royal Platinum Condominium
- Basis unstated; no separate fund reported
- Romduol City
- Net area; fund not disclosed
- CASA by Meridian
- Gross area; $0.40/m² fund, frequency unstated
- Agile Sky Residence
- Conflict: $1.20 net; $1.38 basis unstated
- Vue Aston
- Basis unstated; $1.50/m² fund every 6 months
- The Peninsula
- Gross area; fund not disclosed
- The Bridge Residence
- Basis unstated; sinking fund included
- J Tower 1
- Conflict; fund $0.50 or $0.30/m²
- Time Square 8
- Gross area; projected pre-handover fee
Which Area the Fee Is Applied To
A per-square-metre fee is comparable only after the square metre itself is defined. Romduol City expressly uses net area, while CASA by Meridian and The Peninsula state a gross-area basis. That distinction can materially change the bill: an apartment marketed with 80 m² of gross area may have a much smaller net interior, so identical fee rates do not imply identical costs for two listings that display the same headline size.
The public record also shows why the basis should never be inferred. Time Square 8 expressly labels its $0.80 rate as gross-area based. For Agile Sky Residence, one CAM Realty building entry states $1.20 per m² on net area while other live pages show $1.38 per m² without the same basis label. Until a current invoice or management fee notice resolves that, the accurate description is that the public figures conflict. Recalculating one of them against an unrelated unit size would manufacture precision.
Cambodia’s legal framework helps explain why building-specific documents matter. Sub-Decree No. 126 requires internal regulations for co-owned buildings and includes each co-owner’s share of common-area maintenance and repair expenses among the matters those regulations address. Article 14 says maintenance costs are shared in proportion to lot value unless otherwise agreed or regulated, while the sample internal regulations in the annex describe common-area costs in proportion to the size of the private unit. None of this creates a government-set fee per square metre or a universal rule that every condominium must use gross or net area.
For budgeting, the practical input is therefore the area that the current building document actually uses for charging. A brochure area, a cadastral or title area and the usable internal floor area may coincide, but they do not have to. Once the correct basis is known, the arithmetic is straightforward—monthly rate × chargeable area × 12. Using the wrong area, however, can make a perfectly accurate calculation answer the wrong question.
What to Ask for a Specific Unit
Fee and area
- What rate is currently in force, and from what date?
- Which area is used for billing, and where is it defined?
- Is there a recent invoice or management notice showing that rate?
What is included
- Which common services are expressly included in the recurring fee?
- Are parking and common-area electricity charged separately?
- Are there any compulsory charges outside the recurring fee?
Fund and arrears
- Is there a sinking fund, and what are its basis and frequency?
- Has any special assessment for major works been approved?
- Does this unit have any outstanding building charges at the transaction date?
Who can change it
- Who approves a fee change under this building’s rules?
- When was the fee last revised?
- Is the next review or budget period already scheduled?
What the Common Fee Covers — and What It Does Not
Once the rate and billing area are known, the next question is what the recurring charge actually buys. Royal Platinum Condominium links its quoted $0.70 per m² residential fee to facilities access, while car and motorbike parking are listed separately. Romduol City publishes a management fee alongside shared amenities and gives separate electricity and water rates. That does not prove that every operating cost of every amenity is fully covered by the fee; it shows why the scope of the building charge needs to be read from the source rather than inferred from the amenity list.
CASA by Meridian illustrates another distinction. Rental listings say management, security and facilities access may be included in the rent, while electricity, water and parking sit outside it. That is useful evidence about how expenses are packaged for a tenant, but “management fee included” in a lease does not tell a buyer what the owner owes the building. The lease and the owner’s building account answer different questions.
Some public sale material is more explicit about the composition of the owner charge. A current Embassy Central listing states a $1.10 per m² management fee that includes the sinking fund and 10% VAT, while a parking maintenance fee is shown separately. The Bridge reports $1.60 per m² with the sinking fund included. These examples matter because two headline rates can contain different cost layers; a charge that looks higher may already include an item billed separately elsewhere.
Utilities require their own line in the budget. Electricity and water are often quoted separately on building pages, and internet, in-unit housekeeping, parking or rental-management services can depend on the lease or service package. A swimming pool, gym or staffed reception is not evidence that every associated service is covered by the common-area fee without additional conditions.
For an actual purchase, a useful cost view has four layers: the mandatory recurring building charge, any mandatory reserve contribution, other fixed owner charges such as parking where applicable, and then variable or optional services. Only the fixed mandatory layers belong in a like-for-like annual ownership budget. Utilities and elective services should remain visible beside that number, not be folded into a single “maintenance” figure.
Common mistakes and how to fix them
What it costsIf security or cleaning is already inside the common charge, adding it again overstates the annual budget and makes the building look artificially more expensive.
What to do insteadMark each service you need as included, separately billed or unresolved.
What it costsEntering zero for an unknown parking fee creates false precision: the total looks complete while one recurring cost is still unresolved.
What to do insteadKeep parking as an unresolved line until the tariff or inclusion terms are known.
What it costsMoney held in reserve and money already spent on repairs are different; mixing them can make the building’s finances look stronger or weaker without evidence.
What to do insteadKeep a one-off building-fund contribution on its own line.
Sinking Funds and Extra Charges Change the Total
A sinking fund can materially change the annual owner budget even when the monthly management rate looks modest. Vue Aston is one of the clearest public examples here: CAM Realty reports a $1.38 per m² management fee and a separate $1.50 per m² sinking-fund charge every six months. If management confirmed that both are applied to the same 80 m² chargeable base, the fund alone would add $240 a year. The recurring fee would be about $1,325 and the combined recurring-plus-fund amount about $1,565.
CASA by Meridian uses a different presentation. Its public building information shows a separate $0.40 per m² sinking fund but does not state the frequency on the page used here, so that figure cannot responsibly be converted into a monthly or annual amount. The Bridge, by contrast, says its sinking fund is included in the $1.60 per m² management fee. Embassy Central sale material also describes the fund as included in its reported charge. These are distinct billing models, not interchangeable labels.
J Tower 1 demonstrates why fund data also needs conflict checking. IPS reports a $1.00 per m² management fee plus a $0.50 per m² sinking fund, while CAM Realty reports $1.50 plus $0.30. Without a dated management notice, selecting one combination as “current” would simply choose between two broker-reported versions. The discrepancy is more useful to a buyer as a prompt for primary documentation than as a number to average.
Special assessments are another category. A one-off contribution for major work should remain a one-off item; spreading it across twelve months can make an exceptional cost look like an ordinary service charge. A fund that is explicitly billed every six or twelve months can be annualised, but it should still be shown separately from the recurring management fee so the reader can see the structure of the obligation.
Resale purchases add unit-specific arrears. Outstanding service charges, reserve contributions or a documented special assessment do not describe the building’s normal tariff, but they can affect what must be cleared before transfer. They therefore stay outside the regular fee comparison while remaining part of due diligence on the individual apartment.
What the Fee Means for an Annual Budget
Based on three operating buildings with an explicit charge base: $1.10 / $1.20 / $1.50 per m² per month. This applies to 50 m² of chargeable area and excludes separate funds, parking and utilities.
The $1.20 median belongs only to this narrow three-building comparable set, not to Phnom Penh as a whole. A unit’s marketed area may differ from its chargeable area.
This is the recurring fee only: rate × chargeable area × 12. A recurring sinking fund must be added separately when its frequency and charge base are documented.
Expert view

A headline fee of $1.20 per square metre is not enough to price the owner’s annual obligation. The useful evidence is the current building document, the exact area used for billing and any mandatory fund charged outside the monthly fee. A completed building can support that with actual operating records, while an off-plan project can only state the terms expected before handover. If a source does not say whether the basis is gross, net or another registered area, I would keep that uncertainty visible instead of forcing a comparison. For a specific unit, the annual budget should be rebuilt from the latest chargeable area and fee schedule before the purchase decision is made.
Sources and check dates
Show sources and methodology5 checked sources+
- Sub-Decree No. 126 on the Management and Use of Co-Owned Buildings, 12 August 2009
Legal framework for internal regulations and sharing common-area costs; it does not set a citywide fee per square metre.
- ROMDUOL CITY CONDOMINIUM
Reports $1.10/m² on net area, December 2023 handover and separate utility rates; a market source rather than a management invoice.
- CASA By Meridian
Reports $1.20/m² on gross area and a separate $0.40/m² sinking fund; the frequency is not stated on the page used.
- The Peninsula — 7th Floor 1 Bedroom Condo For Sale
A listing prepared 9 August 2026 reports $1.50/m² on gross area and gives both net and gross unit sizes.
- Royal Group Platinum Condominium
Reports $0.70/m² for residential units, facilities access and separate parking; the rate line does not define the area basis.
Useful next reading
A practical second opinion
Need to check a specific condo?
Send the unit link, price and your goal. We will separate the documented facts from the points that still need a unit-level check.
What to send: link, budget and target date