Cambodia: Property Instalments: Initial Payment vs Full Price
Published · Updated
What the initial payment shows — and what it does not say about price
The booking amount answers a narrow question: how much cash is needed to reserve the property now. It does not establish the purchase price and may not even describe the next few weeks. CEO Center currently publishes a USD 2,000 booking deposit followed by 30% on SPA signing within 30 days, then two further 30% construction-milestone calls and 10% on key collection. The official page does not say whether the USD 2,000 is credited against the 30% SPA payment, so treating it as either included or additional would create a number the source does not provide.
Silvertown Metropolitan is a useful contrast because the booking treatment is explicit. Its published one-time-payment option starts with USD 2,000, then requires a 10% down payment one week later less the booking fee. If the contract price were a hypothetical USD 100,000, the buyer would top the total paid up to USD 10,000 rather than pay USD 2,000 and another USD 10,000. That USD 100,000 figure is only a common comparison scale; it is not a Silvertown unit price. The longer Silvertown options keep the same 10% entry point but move substantial portions of the price to months three, six, nine or twelve.
Kingston Royale illustrates why a headline such as “0% for 36 months” is incomplete on its own. The current realestate.com.kh project page describes 10–30% at SPA, another 36% spread as 1% per month for 36 months, and the remaining balance at handover, with a loan alternative mentioned for that final portion. The booking amount is not stated in that payment block. Depending on whether the SPA payment is 10% or 30%, the buyer reaches handover having already paid a very different share of the price even though the monthly instalment headline is identical.
Version control matters as much as the percentage itself. Odom's current IPS page contains two different public descriptions: its FAQ refers to a USD 5,000 booking and 30% down payment, while the financial section shows the same booking amount followed by 20% down, 40% instalments and 40% at completion and handover. Those figures should not be averaged into a synthetic plan. Until the unit, date and governing offer are aligned, the honest output is that the public versions conflict.
The comparison below focuses on cash timing instead of treating unlike apartments as if they shared one price. Percentages can be applied to a common hypothetical budget to visualise the burden — 30% of USD 100,000 is USD 30,000 — while fixed booking fees remain project-specific. This makes the early cash calls comparable without turning the normalised budget into a quoted sale price.
Compare the options
CEO Center — milestones
- Price / discount
- No discount stated
- Booking
- USD 2,000; crediting not stated
- At SPA
- 30% within 30 days
- During construction
- 30% + 30% at two milestones
- At handover
- 10% on key collection
- Before handover
- 90%; booking treatment unclear
- Timing basis
- SPA deadline + construction milestones
- Checked
- 29 Sep 2026 · official site
Silvertown — 1 month
- Price / discount
- 10% discount
- Booking
- USD 2,000; counts toward 10%
- At SPA
- SPA not separated; 10% after 1 week
- During construction
- 90% in month 1; not construction-linked
- At handover
- Not stated
- Before handover
- 100%; not linked to handover
- Timing basis
- Calendar from booking
- Checked
- 29 Sep 2026 · public listing
Silvertown — 9 months
- Price / discount
- 7% discount
- Booking
- USD 2,000; counts toward 10%
- At SPA
- SPA not separated; 10% after 1 week
- During construction
- 40% month 3 + 40% month 6 + 10% month 9
- At handover
- Not stated
- Before handover
- 100%; not linked to handover
- Timing basis
- Calendar from booking
- Checked
- 29 Sep 2026 · public listing
Silvertown — 12 months
- Price / discount
- 4% discount
- Booking
- USD 2,000; counts toward 10%
- At SPA
- SPA not separated; 10% after 1 week
- During construction
- 30% month 3 + 30% month 6 + 20% month 9 + 10% month 12
- At handover
- Not stated
- Before handover
- 100%; not linked to handover
- Timing basis
- Calendar from booking
- Checked
- 29 Sep 2026 · public listing
Kingston — 36-month 0%
- Price / discount
- 0% instalments; discount not stated
- Booking
- Not stated
- At SPA
- 10–30%
- During construction
- 36%: 1% per month × 36
- At handover
- Remaining 34–54%
- Before handover
- 46–66%
- Timing basis
- SPA + monthly schedule + handover
- Checked
- 29 Sep 2026 · public listing
Kingston — full payment
- Price / discount
- Published 20% discount
- Booking
- Not stated
- At SPA
- No separate SPA stage stated
- During construction
- None stated
- At handover
- Not separated
- Before handover
- 100%; full-payment date not stated
- Timing basis
- Single payoff; timing not stated
- Checked
- 29 Sep 2026 · public listing
When “0%” does not mean the same full price
A zero-interest label says that the developer is not separately adding a stated interest charge to the instalment schedule. It does not guarantee price parity with a faster-payment option. The difference may appear as a smaller discount, a different package, or a different quoted contract price. A defensible comparison starts with the same unit, the same date, the same inclusions and two written payment options. Once the unit or package changes, the price gap can no longer be attributed to timing alone.
Silvertown Metropolitan makes the mechanism visible at project level. Its current public page advertises a 10% discount for the one-month option, 7% for the longer half-year schedule and 4% for the one-year schedule. That is evidence that payment speed and the published discount can be linked, but it is not yet a unit-specific dollar comparison. The page does not provide two dated quotations for a chosen apartment showing that every other term is identical.
A current third-party listing for a specific Kingston Royale apartment provides a more concrete illustration. The same 84.7 sqm, 30th-floor unit is shown with a USD 150,010 base price. The full-payment route is published at USD 120,008 after a 20% discount, while the 0% instalment route is shown at USD 129,009 after a 14% discount. The nominal gap is USD 9,001, about 7.5% of the faster-payment price. Because this is a secondary listing, not a developer-issued unit quote, the figure is useful as a real example of the mechanism, not as a price rule that can be applied across Kingston Royale.
Other current Kingston pages reinforce that limitation. Realestate.com.kh publishes a 20% full-payment discount, while Keller Henson's 2BR Type B page states up to 19% for full payment and 13% for a 30% payment within ten days. Those numbers may reflect different units, dates or campaigns. Combining them into an “average Kingston discount” would create a figure that none of the sources actually offers.
The lost discount is also not an interest rate. A USD 9,001 difference between two nominal prices is simply a price difference unless the full cash-flow dates are modelled. Converting it into an annual financing cost would require the exact payment dates, any post-handover financing terms and an explicit discount-rate assumption. Without those inputs, an annualised percentage would be analysis, not a documented term.
The cleanest comparison keeps two questions separate. First, what is the full contract price under each payment method? Second, when is each part of that price due? The first captures the nominal cost of the chosen offer; the second captures the value and risk of keeping cash for longer. A headline “0%” answers neither question on its own.
Expectation and reality
A small booking fee means the purchase itself has a low cash requirement
The booking amount may be followed by a much larger contractual payment within days or weeks.
TipCEO Center: USD 2,000 at reservation, then 30% at SPA within 30 days.
“0%” means the same full price as a faster-payment option
The interest charge can be zero while the discount or quoted contract price still changes.
TipSilvertown publishes different discounts by payment speed, and Kingston also shows a separate full-payment discount.
A low monthly instalment means the cash burden is evenly spread
A small monthly share can coexist with a large balance left for handover.
TipIn Kingston's published 36-month plan, 34–54% remains after the 36% monthly schedule, depending on the SPA payment.
A construction-milestone payment is the same as a fixed calendar date
A milestone is triggered by an event, so its calendar month may not be known in advance.
TipCEO Center publishes two 30% construction-milestone calls without assigning them to fixed calendar months.
The payment schedule already captures every mandatory extra
The schedule normally describes the property price; documented operating or other charges may sit outside it.
TipFor example, Kingston and Silvertown publish management charges separately from the percentage purchase schedule.
Calendar payments, construction milestones and the handover balance
Two plans can share the same opening percentage and still demand very different liquidity. A calendar plan tells the buyer when the next cash call arrives by month. A milestone plan ties the call to a construction event. A balloon-heavy structure can look light for most of the term and then require a large amount at handover. Those are different budgeting problems even when all scheduled percentages eventually add up to 100%.
Silvertown is a clear calendar example. Under the option carrying a 7% published discount, the buyer reaches 10% one week after booking, then pays 40% in month three, 40% in month six and 10% in month nine. The one-year option uses 10%, followed by 30% in month three, 30% in month six, 20% in month nine and 10% in month twelve. Because the source names calendar months, those cash calls can be placed directly on a personal liquidity plan. The project is already completed, however, and the page does not define those months as handover dates, so the final calendar payment should not be relabelled as a handover balance.
CEO Center works differently. After 30% at SPA, the official schedule places two 30% payments at construction milestones and another 10% at key collection. The trigger is clear, but the month is not. Converting those milestones into “month six” or “month twelve” would add a date that the official source does not provide. The buyer needs liquidity around an event, not a fixed recurring date.
Kingston Royale shows the opposite problem: a regular monthly instalment with a sizeable end balance. The current public plan spreads 36% of the price as 1% per month for 36 months. Depending on whether the SPA payment is 10% or 30%, another 34–54% remains for handover. On a hypothetical USD 100,000 comparison budget, that means USD 1,000 per month for three years but a final balance of roughly USD 34,000–54,000. The USD 100,000 figure is a normalisation tool, not a quoted Kingston price.
That final balance deserves its own funding plan. If the buyer intends to refinance it, the loan is a separate cash-flow stage with its own rate, term and approval conditions. The Kingston page mentions a payoff or a 10% loan route for the remaining balance, but without the full lending terms it would be misleading to fold the future interest cost into the developer instalment schedule. “0% instalments” and “10% post-handover financing” can both appear in one purchase without contradicting each other because they describe different stages.
A useful comparison tracks cumulative cash at genuine control points. Calendar schedules can be read at 30 days, three months, six months, nine months and twelve months. Milestone schedules should be read at the named construction events. Handover should remain an event unless the governing documents provide a fixed date. That distinction may look less tidy than forcing every plan onto the same monthly chart, but it is much closer to the liquidity the buyer actually has to manage.
Map the instalments to the events that trigger them
Treatment of the first payment
Record whether the reservation payment counts towards the price and where this is stated; do not assume the credit.
Dates and milestones
Separate date-based payments from milestone payments and identify the evidence that triggers each milestone.
The balance and associated charges
Place the price balance and handover charges in the same cash-flow period while keeping their purposes distinct.
What belongs in the full cash burden — and where the conclusion stops
Adding the percentage stages does not always produce the complete transaction cash requirement. The first layer is the contract price under the chosen payment method plus the treatment of the booking amount. Where the source explicitly says the booking fee is deducted from the down payment, as Silvertown does, it should not be counted twice. Where the source is silent, as on CEO Center's official payment page, the correct treatment is to leave the crediting rule unresolved instead of quietly adding or subtracting USD 2,000.
Only documented mandatory buyer charges belong in the same transaction layer. If an offer sheet makes a fee or package compulsory for that price, it matters. Ongoing ownership expenses are different. Silvertown separately publishes a USD 1.50 per sqm maintenance charge, while current Kingston material lists management at USD 0.90 per sqm and car parking at USD 40 per month. Those figures are relevant to ownership cash flow, but they do not become part of a 10%, 36% or handover payment simply because they appear on the same sales page.
Utility tariffs and post-purchase running costs should be kept separate for the same reason. They may be unavoidable once the unit is occupied, yet they are not automatically part of the purchase price. A buyer who wants the broader acquisition budget needs another layer covering transfer-related costs, ongoing service charges and other documented expenses. This page is narrower: it explains how the price itself is called over time and where additional compulsory amounts are actually evidenced.
Future financing is another boundary. Kingston's remaining balance can be paid off or, in some public material, moved into financing carrying a stated 10% rate. A rate by itself is not the cost of that credit. The loan amount, term, amortisation pattern, fees and early-repayment rules are required before the financing cost can be calculated. Until those terms are available, the loan should be shown as a separate future cash stage, not folded into an invented “cost of the 0% plan.”
Currency needs the same discipline. CEO Center, Silvertown and most of the Cambodian project material reviewed here quote prices and booking amounts in US dollars. Some secondary Kingston pages also display Thai-baht equivalents. The cash budget should follow the currency in the governing current document, not a convenient marketing conversion, because the contractual obligation is what determines the amount that must actually arrive.
The conclusion can go only as far as the evidence. We can total the documented contract-price stages, preserve known booking-credit rules, add a mandatory extra when the offer actually makes it mandatory, and map those amounts to stated dates or triggers. We cannot call the result a lifetime ownership cost when taxes, banking charges, service costs or other items sit outside the schedule. An unresolved line is more useful than a precise-looking total built from assumptions.
Two complete totals for the same apartment
Two complete totals for the same apartmentChecklist0 of 4
Expert view

The easiest number to misread in a payment plan is often the first one. A USD 2,000 booking deposit can sit only a few weeks ahead of a 30% contractual payment. I give more weight to the full contract price and the next large cash call because those are what shape the buyer's real liquidity requirement. A low entry amount can still lead to a demanding schedule. Price comparisons also need to stay unit-specific. The two quotes should carry the same date and the same inclusions. Otherwise a discount difference may come from a campaign, package or price-list version rather than from the instalment period itself. That is why a clean same-unit comparison is more informative than the headline percentage.
Sources and check dates
Show sources and methodology5 checked sources+
- CEO Center Cambodia — official project website
Primary source for the published schedule: USD 2,000 booking, 30% at SPA within 30 days, two 30% construction milestones and 10% on key collection. It does not state how the booking deposit is credited.
- Realestate.com.kh — Silvertown Metropolitan
Current public project page showing five payment methods. The comparison uses the 10%, 7% and 4% discount options, the USD 2,000 booking amount and their calendar stages; this is a secondary source.
- Naki Group — Silvertown Metropolitan project profile
Officially identifies Silvertown Metropolitan as a Naki Group project. The group site does not publish the commercial payment schedule, so it is not used for the plan figures.
- Realestate.com.kh — Kingston Royale
Recent public project page showing 10–30% at SPA, 36% at 1% per month for 36 months, a handover balance and a separate full-payment option with a 20% discount. Secondary source; terms vary by unit.
- Kingston Estates — Kingston Royale official project page
Officially confirms the Kingston Royale project and developer. The page does not publish a detailed commercial schedule, so no payment percentages are inferred from it.
Useful next reading
A practical second opinion
Need to check a specific condo?
Send the unit link, price and your goal. We will separate the documented facts from the points that still need a unit-level check.
What to send: link, budget and target date