Phnom Penh Developer Payment Plan Comparison
Published · Updated
The same “0%” label can hide very different cash demands
Monthly instalments are an easy number to advertise, but they do not tell a buyer how much cash must be ready at the points that can actually stop a purchase. G.A.T.O is a useful same-project example. Its published fast-settlement plan asks for 20% at the SPA and 80% one month later. The balanced route puts 50% up front, spreads 40% over 48 months and leaves 10% for handover. The extended route starts at 20%, spreads 60% over 48 months and retains 20% for handover. The financing headline may look similar, yet the first-month cash requirement is not remotely the same.
Using the published G.A.T.O starting price of US$142,425 for a one-bedroom Type D/K as an illustration, 20% is US$28,485 and 80% is US$113,940. Those figures are not a unit quote; the project says pricing changes with floor and view. The example simply exposes the liquidity issue. A buyer who can comfortably fund a 20% signing payment may still be unable or unwilling to release another 80% a month later.
Norea Square and Time Square 9 show a different split between construction-period cash and the final event. Norea's cash-with-project plan calls for 10% at booking/SPA, 85% across months 1–29 and 5% at month-30 handover, so 95% has been paid before the final balance. Time Square 9 asks for 20% at SPA, then 1% a month for 45 months, with 35% left for handover. That leaves only 65% paid before the final event. Neither profile is inherently preferable: one commits more capital before handover, while the other concentrates more liquidity at the end.
This comparison is deliberately narrow. It reflects public terms available on 29 September 2026 and published unit examples, not a survey of every Phnom Penh developer. The transaction-level answer comes from a current quote for the selected unit and the payment schedule attached to the SPA. Floor, view, promotions, included packages and the treatment of the booking amount can all change the cash calendar.
Compare the options
G.A.T.O Fast
- Price reference
- 1-bed from $142,425
- Booking
- Not in official schedule; portal states $5,000, crediting not shown
- Starting payment
- 20% at SPA
- Construction-period payments
- None: 80% due after 1 month
- Paid before final event
- 100% one month after SPA
- Final balance
- 0% at handover; 80% was due after month 1
- Largest documented cash event
- 80% in one payment after 1 month
- Discount / timing price
- No same-unit comparison discount published
- Bank boundary
- No bank leg in the published plan
G.A.T.O Balanced
- Price reference
- 1-bed from $142,425
- Booking
- Not in official schedule; portal states $5,000, crediting not shown
- Starting payment
- 20% at SPA + 30% one month later
- Construction-period payments
- 40% over 48 months
- Paid before final event
- 90% before handover
- Final balance
- 10% at handover
- Largest documented cash event
- 30% month-1 event; up to 50% around start, exact dates needed
- Discount / timing price
- No same-unit comparison discount published
- Bank boundary
- No bank leg in the published plan
G.A.T.O Extended
- Price reference
- 1-bed from $142,425
- Booking
- Not in official schedule; portal states $5,000, crediting not shown
- Starting payment
- 20% at SPA
- Construction-period payments
- 60% over 48 months
- Paid before final event
- 80% before handover
- Final balance
- 20% at handover
- Largest documented cash event
- 20% at SPA or handover; cadence of the 60% is not itemised
- Discount / timing price
- No same-unit comparison discount published
- Bank boundary
- No bank leg in the published plan
Norea Cash
- Price reference
- Type 1A, Level 7: from $63,446 after 12% discount
- Booking
- No separate amount: booking/SPA together = 10%
- Starting payment
- 10% at booking/SPA
- Construction-period payments
- 85% in months 1–29; monthly split not published
- Paid before final event
- 95% before handover
- Final balance
- 5% at month-30 handover
- Largest documented cash event
- Not calculable exactly: the 85% cadence inside months 1–29 is not itemised
- Discount / timing price
- 12% launch discount
- Bank boundary
- No bank leg
Norea Paid-off
- Price reference
- Same-unit quote required
- Booking
- $1,000 at booking/SPA; treatment within 20/40/40 not stated
- Starting payment
- 20% in month 1 after $1,000 booking
- Construction-period payments
- 40% in month 2 + 40% in month 3
- Paid before final event
- 100% by month 3
- Final balance
- 0% at handover
- Largest documented cash event
- 40% in one payment
- Discount / timing price
- 12% + extra 3%; dollar base requires a quote
- Bank boundary
- No bank leg
Time Square 9
- Price reference
- 60 sqm 1-bed from $97,760
- Booking
- Not shown in current payment table
- Starting payment
- 20% at SPA
- Construction-period payments
- 1% monthly × 45 months
- Paid before final event
- 65% before handover
- Final balance
- 35% at handover
- Largest documented cash event
- 35% at handover
- Discount / timing price
- No same-unit comparison discount published
- Bank boundary
- Separate 10-year loans are advertised; their terms are outside this schedule
Diamond Bay O1
- Price reference
- Studio from $126,165; plan-specific price not disclosed
- Booking
- $2,000; credit against price not stated
- Starting payment
- 30% at SPA after $2,000 booking
- Construction-period payments
- 20% divided over 24 months
- Paid before final event
- 50% before final payoff; booking credit remains unclear
- Final balance
- 50% payoff or bank loan; handover trigger not stated
- Largest documented cash event
- 50% final payoff or bank loan
- Discount / timing price
- Labelled 20% discount; price base and comparable quote not disclosed
- Bank boundary
- Final 50% can be paid off or financed with Canadia Bank
When the cash is actually due: start, construction and handover
A useful cash plan separates the largest single payment from the largest amount that falls inside any 30-day window. Those are not always the same number. Booking cash, SPA signing and the first scheduled instalment can sit close enough together that the buyer effectively needs all of them available at once. Where the public schedule gives milestones but not calendar dates, the honest output is an event-based requirement rather than a fictional due date.
G.A.T.O's fast-settlement route makes the peak easy to see: 20% is due at SPA and another 80% one month later. On the US$142,425 published one-bedroom starting example, that is US$28,485 followed by US$113,940. The balanced plan is less concentrated after that first month, but the portal still shows 20% at SPA and 30% one month later before 40% is spread over 48 months and 10% is left for handover. Whether the first two payments land inside the same strict 30-day window depends on the actual dates in the contract. The extended plan holds the start at 20%, then allocates 60% to the 48-month period and 20% to handover.
Time Square 9 illustrates a different liquidity problem. A 1% monthly instalment can feel modest while a large final balance remains untouched. Using the published US$97,760 starting price for a 60 sqm one-bedroom, 20% is US$19,552, each 1% monthly instalment is US$977.60, and the 35% handover balance is US$34,216. The 45 monthly instalments total US$43,992, so 65% has been paid before handover. The biggest stated cash event is still the final 35%.
Norea Square is precise about the percentages but not about the cadence inside its 85% construction-period block. On the US$63,446 Level 7 Type 1A starting example, the 10% opening payment is US$6,344.60, the 85% block is US$53,929.10 and the 5% handover balance is US$3,172.30. The site places the 85% across months 1–29 but does not itemise each month's due amount. Dividing it by 29 would create a payment schedule that the source does not actually state. What can be said confidently is that 95% of the price is due before the final handover payment.
Diamond Bay Garden adds another boundary. Its Option 1 lists a US$2,000 booking fee, 30% at SPA, 20% divided over 24 months and a 50% payoff or Canadia Bank loan. The public project profile does not say whether the booking fee is credited against the price or exactly what event makes the last 50% due. The largest disclosed component is therefore 50%, but a defensible 30-day cash peak still requires the unit quotation and contractual schedule.
What the budget already confirms
Not included yet
Confirmed discount for this unit, %
Not confirmed in the public documents reviewed. Request this amount for the chosen unit.
USD | P=unit_price×(1−discount_pct/100); SPA=P×down_payment_pct/100; INST=P×instalment_pct/100; pre=booking+SPA+INST−booking_credit; H=P×handover_pct/100; peak30 requires actual due dates; excluded=bank_interest+taxes+unconfirmed_fees.
Early-payment discounts change the real cost of instalments
A 0% instalment label only says that the schedule does not separately charge stated interest. It does not prove that the delayed-payment price equals the price for faster settlement. Developers can price timing through discounts, unit-specific offers, furniture packages, parking or other inclusions. The economic difference can therefore sit in the purchase price even when no annual interest rate appears in the contract.
Norea Square makes that distinction visible. Its published plans include a 12% launch discount, while the paid-off-in-three-months route adds another 3% discount. What the public page does not provide is a pair of final, same-day quotations for the same unit under both plans, nor does it define the exact calculation base for that extra 3%. It is therefore reasonable to say that faster settlement receives an additional price concession, but not to turn the US$63,446 starting example into a precise dollar saving without a personalised quotation. The discount is also not an APR and should not be presented as one.
Diamond Bay Garden shows the same principle with three visibly different discount labels and cash schedules. Option 1 is labelled 20% discount and combines 30% at SPA, 20% over 24 months and a 50% payoff or bank loan. Option 3 is labelled 10% discount and combines 10% at SPA with a 90% payoff or bank loan. That is enough to show that payment timing and the advertised discount are linked. It is not enough to calculate the nominal saving, because the public profile does not supply three matched quotations for one unit on one date or explain how the US$2,000 booking payment is credited.
A defensible timing-cost calculation starts with two written quotations for the same unit, issued on the same date and with the same inclusions. The nominal extra cost is then simply the stretched-plan price minus the accelerated-payment price. A buyer can add an NPV scenario if they want to value the use of their own capital over time, but the discount rate in that model is an assumption, not a contractual fact or a developer interest rate.
Match the payment plan to your cash dates
Amounts already credited
Treat the reservation as part of the first instalment only where the terms provide for a credit; avoid counting it twice.
Each due date separately
Compare each instalment with cash available by its due date. An annual savings total does not establish that every payment is covered.
The balloon payment and other bills
Place the balance, essential fit-out and disclosed charges on one calendar, with unresolved costs still visible.
What the marketing schedule does not tell you
A 20/60/20 graphic is a useful cash map, but it does not by itself define when a buyer becomes legally obliged to pay. Cambodian development activity is regulated through instruments including Sub-Decree No. 50 and Prakas No. 047, with the Real Estate Business and Pawnshop Regulator responsible for the relevant development licensing framework. For a buyer, the practical point is simpler: the obligation should be readable in the executed sale and purchase agreement and its schedules, not reconstructed from a marketing card.
Booking treatment is the first common gap. Norea Square's accelerated plan shows US$1,000 at booking/SPA and then a 20/40/40 sequence, but the public page does not state how that US$1,000 is credited within the percentage schedule. Diamond Bay Garden lists a US$2,000 booking fee without explaining the credit either. That can change the first-weeks cash calculation. The contract should also make clear when the booking amount becomes non-refundable and what happens if the buyer cancels or misses a due date.
The second gap is the payment trigger. 'In 45 months', 'on completion', 'on key handover' and 'on title transfer' are not interchangeable events. If 35% or 50% is due at a final milestone, the SPA should define that milestone, the notice or evidence that confirms it, and the treatment of a project delay. Where a construction milestone triggers payment, the milestone wording matters more than an approximate date in a brochure.
The payee and account structure also sit outside a simple percentage graphic. An ordinary corporate bank account, a project development account and an escrow arrangement are not the same thing. A development account should not be described as escrow unless the legal structure actually creates escrow protections. The seller, authorised recipient, account details and contractual basis for payment should line up across the transaction documents. If money is requested to a different legal entity or account, that relationship and authority need documentary support.
Finally, bank finance starts where the developer's own payment path ends. Norea's bank routes move the main balance to Canadia Bank from month six; the current site advertises financing of up to 25 years, 0% interest for the first 24 months and 7% per year thereafter. Those are bank-finance terms, not a 0% developer instalment. Diamond Bay Garden likewise describes the last 50% in Option 1 as either payoff or a Canadia Bank loan. Approval, post-promotional interest, fees, security and bank documentation therefore need their own review; otherwise the purchase schedule understates the dependency created by financing the final balance.
There is a fourth layer: cash items that may sit outside the neat 100% purchase-price schedule. Depending on the transaction, these can include registration or administrative charges, advance management payments, parking, furniture packages or other mandatory amounts attached to the selected offer. They should not be added to the percentage schedule by assumption. One project may include an item in the quoted price while another bills it separately and on a different date. A buyer therefore needs a second cash list beside the unit-price calendar: every amount payable outside the purchase price, its recipient, due point and contractual basis. That is how a schedule that mathematically totals 100% avoids understating the actual cash required around handover.
What to request before booking and the first non-refundable payment
What to request before booking and the first non-refundable payment
- Booking: is the amount refundable, when does it become non-refundable, and is it fully credited against the unit price?
- Start: what exact amount is due at SPA signing, and what other payments fall within the following 30 days?
- Schedule: list every due date or trigger, percentage and amount; is there a grace period after a due date?
- Default: what penalties, interest, termination rights or forfeiture of prior payments does the contract provide?
- Construction: are payments tied to calendar dates or construction milestones, and what evidence confirms a milestone?
- Handover: what exact event makes the final balance payable — notice, acceptance, keys or title registration?
- Delay: what happens to the schedule and final payment if handover or a construction milestone moves?
- Price: provide two same-day quotations for the same unit if faster payment receives a discount or the instalment price differs.
- Inclusions: are furniture, appliances, parking, fees and incentives identical under the payment plans being compared?
- Payee: which legal entity receives the money, and what transaction document authorises the stated account?
- Bank: if the final balance relies on a loan, what happens if the bank does not approve the amount or financing terms change?
- Assignment: can the SPA be transferred before completion, what consent is required, and what fees apply?
Expert view

The monthly instalment is often the least informative number in a payment plan. A Phnom Penh buyer can face the real liquidity test at SPA signing, one month later, or at handover. That timing changes the practical burden even when both plans are advertised at 0%. A low monthly figure can coexist with a 30% upfront obligation or a large final balance. If the final balance is expected to come from a bank, the purchase also depends on loan approval, rate terms and the bank's document process. Booking cash matters too when it sits close to the SPA payment and is not clearly credited against the price. I compare plans on one unit price and place every contractual payment on the same timeline. Only then does it become clear whether the buyer needs liquidity now, throughout construction, or at the transfer event. The SPA and its payment schedule should state the amounts, due dates, default consequences and the exact event that makes the final balance payable.
Sources and check dates
Show sources and methodology5 checked sources+
- G.A.T.O Tower — Investment Terms
Official project site supporting the three payment structures, starting prices, 48-month stages and handover shares. Exact pricing varies by floor and view; a separate booking amount is not shown in the official schedule.
- G.A.T.O Tower — Project Profile
Major portal giving the balanced-plan split as 20% at SPA plus 30% one month later and stating a current US$5,000 booking fee. Used as secondary detail; the project's official schedule takes priority.
- Norea Square Condominium — Pricing & Payment
Official site supporting the 10/85/5 cash plan, bank routes, 20/40/40 accelerated payment, discounts and the Type 1A starting example. It states that terms are based on the 29 May 2026 developer quotation and may change.
- Time Square 9 BKK1 — Project Profile
Current project profile supporting 20% at SPA, 1% monthly for 45 months and 35% at handover, plus published unit starting prices. It is a portal profile, not a contractual payment schedule.
- Diamond Bay Garden — Project Profile
Publicly shows three discounted plans, a US$2,000 booking fee and the SPA/24-month/payoff-or-bank split. It does not explain booking credit or provide matched same-unit quotations across all three plans.
Useful next reading
A practical second opinion
Need to check a specific condo?
Send the unit link, price and your goal. We will separate the documented facts from the points that still need a unit-level check.
What to send: link, budget and target date