NovAsia

Cambodia: Buyer Budgets vs Advertised Entry Prices

Published · Updated

What an advertised “entry from…” figure actually represents

A project page can show four very different kinds of money within the same screen: a price “from”, a reservation fee, a down-payment percentage and a small monthly installment. Each figure may be accurate, yet none answers the same question. A starting price describes the bottom of a price range; a reservation fee tells you what may be needed to hold an offer; a down payment belongs to an early contractual milestone; and a monthly figure can represent only one slice of a much larger balance. Treating $500, 10%, and “from $50,000” as comparable entry budgets is therefore a category error.

The audit uses 25 independent public residential-condominium offers checked on 29 September 2026. Twenty-three are in Phnom Penh and two are on the Sihanoukville coast, so the measured ratios should be read as a documented public slice dominated by Phnom Penh, not as national transaction statistics. Every offer was selected because it exposed at least a price or payment amount that could be coded; that selection rule is important when interpreting the disclosure rates.

A unit type, size or specific apartment could be connected to the advertised price in 20 of 25 offers (80%). Separate evidence that a relevant unit was currently on the market appeared in only 12 of 25 (48%). That gap matters because a developer unit table can describe the product mix without proving that the cheapest unit in the table can still be bought today. A sold-rate percentage is useful market context, but it is not evidence that one particular apartment remains available.

Several live pages show why mismatched numbers need explanation rather than accusation. Anata Residence displayed a $46,793 starting price while also showing an available studio at $40,793. G.A.T.O Tower’s developer table started at $98,890, while a live studio listing on the same project page was $98,115 and the narrative also used that lower introductory figure. Kingston Royale showed a developer-table floor around $55,724 but a current one-bedroom listing at $52,500. A promotion, a different fit-out, a specific floor, a lagging headline or mixed data sources can all create that pattern.

The practical distinction is between a number that attracts attention and a number that can survive a unit-level check. Under the strict classification used here, 20/25 offers were at least partially reconstructable and 5/25 remained at “advertised entry only”. None reached the fully reconstructable category because every offer still left at least one material element—typically a compulsory one-off charge, the treatment of a reservation fee, or a contract-specific condition—to be confirmed outside the public page.

The advert, the specific unit and the buyer commitment

This is not a cheapest-project ranking. It shows how far a public entry number can be carried toward a defined apartment and a usable payment obligation. Live listings are used as availability evidence only when the project page actually exposes them; resale units are not counted as separate core offers.

Scenario 1 / 2

Advertised entry

Anata Residence
$46,793 from; $500 reservation; 10% down
G.A.T.O Tower
$98,115 in copy / $98,890 in the table; 20% down
Yuetai Phnom Penh Harbour
studios $42,648–67,398; $2,000 reservation
Silvertown Metropolitan
studios from $183,151; $2,000 reservation; down from 10%
Odom Living
1-bed from $290,648; $5,000 reservation; 10% down
Diamond Bay Garden
studio from $126,165; $2,000 reservation; 10–30% down
Chip Mong Park Land TK Condo
1-bed from $67,340; $1,000 reservation
Time Square 7
$52,762 headline / about $50,000 in table; $500 reservation
Kingston Royale
project from $54,864; 1-bed table from $55,724
J Tower 3
$367,000–379,000 across two 3-bed types
Wealth Mansion
from $153,140; $5,000 reservation; 10% first payment
UC88 Wyndham Garden BKK1
$150,000 headline / about $160,264 in studio table
Scenario 2 / 2

What is verified

Anata Residence
A 40 m² studio, code 21230, is shown at $40,793. Reservation and down payment are public. Reservation crediting is not stated.
G.A.T.O Tower
A live 31 m² studio is $98,115. Payment paths include 20/80, 20/30/40/10 and 20/60/20. Treatment of the stated $5,000 booking amount is unclear.
Yuetai Phnom Penh Harbour
20%, 30% and 50% down-payment options are public, with current sale listings from $45,000. The remaining contractual path is not stated clearly enough.
Silvertown Metropolitan
Seven studios are shown as available. The reservation is explicitly deducted from the down payment. Discounts fall from 10% to 4% across payment routes.
Odom Living
The page has a unit table and live inventory. The base path is 10% at contract, 80% over 40 months, 10% at handover. Reservation crediting is not stated.
Diamond Bay Garden
Live units and three payment plans are shown. Higher upfront payment carries a larger stated discount: 10%, 15% or 20%. Reservation treatment is unclear.
Chip Mong Park Land TK Condo
Plans range from 36-month installments with no down payment to 20–50% at contract. The cheapest currently available apartment is not tied to the advertised floor.
Time Square 7
The 1-bed table runs roughly $50,000–86,130. The plan is 20% at contract, then 1% monthly for 40 months and the balance at handover or by loan. No live unit at the floor price is confirmed.
Kingston Royale
A current 1-bed listing is $52,500. The installment route starts with 10–30% at contract; full payment is advertised with a 20% discount. No reservation fee is shown.
J Tower 3
The 166 m² and 178 m² types are separately priced. Schedule: 15% at contract, 70% over 60 interest-free months, 15% at handover. Current listings are visible.
Wealth Mansion
A current Type A studio is shown at $153,140. One route is 10% after one week, 20% over 13 months and 70% by loan. Reservation crediting is not stated.
UC88 Wyndham Garden BKK1
A current studio at $150,000 is visible. One plan is 30% at contract, 20% over 12 months and 50% at handover. Compulsory one-off extras are not itemised.

The first payment and the apartment price are different budgets

A buyer needs three numbers at the same time. The first is the advertised entry amount—the figure used to attract attention. The second is cumulative cash required by the time the sale-and-purchase agreement is signed. The third is the full nominal contractual commitment for the chosen route: the specific apartment price, compulsory one-off charges, and any explicit financing premium or interest. Those layers cannot simply be added together because a reservation payment that is credited toward the down payment is already part of the purchase price.

A reservation amount was disclosed in 12 of 25 offers (48%). Only two of those 12—Silvertown Metropolitan and Sky Villa—explicitly said that the reservation is deducted from the down payment. The other ten public pages do not justify assuming either treatment. That small wording gap is enough to prevent an exact cash-to-contract calculation.

Anata Residence makes the arithmetic tangible. Its page showed an available studio at $40,793, a $500 reservation and a 10% down payment. If the $500 is credited, cumulative cash by the completion of that first-payment stage is $4,079.30, with $3,579.30 still due after reservation. If it is additional, the same stage requires $4,579.30. Because the public page does not settle the crediting question, a range is more accurate than a single invented number.

Silvertown is clearer. At the bottom studio price of $183,151, the first plan states a $2,000 booking payment and a 10% down payment less that booking amount. Total cash through that stage is therefore $18,315.10, of which $16,315.10 remains after reservation. Sky Villa uses the same explicit “less booking fee” wording for a $20,000 reservation and 40–50% deposit structures, allowing the early cash requirement to be reconstructed without double counting.

A complete nominal payment schedule was visible in 17 of 25 offers (68%). Even then, the schedule cannot be separated from pricing. Silvertown publishes a 10% discount for its shortest route, 7% for a half-year plan and 4% for a one-year route, while another one-year structure carries no stated discount. Odom Living pairs its standard 40-month route with alternative plans offering 2.5% or 5% discounts for more cash upfront. Diamond Bay Garden likewise varies the stated discount—20%, 15% or 10%—with the amount due at contract.

That is why “0% interest” does not automatically mean “same total cost as cash”. The financing rate can be zero while the economic difference sits in the discount, the quoted base price, included package or final-payment terms. A fair comparison uses the same apartment, the same quote date and two complete price calculations; anything else risks comparing different products rather than different payment methods.

Common mistakes and how to fix them

Treating the reservation fee as the purchase budget

What it costsA much larger contractual payment can fall due within days, creating an immediate cash gap.

What to do insteadUse cumulative cash due by contract signing, with a separate statement on whether the reservation is credited.

Reading the down payment as the total price

What it costsMost of the price may still sit in installments, a bank loan or a large handover balance.

What to do insteadPut the entire nominal path to 100% of the price next to the first-payment figure.

Assuming the “from” price is a live apartment

What it costsThe budget can be built around inventory that is no longer actually available.

What to do insteadRequire a unit code or type, size, current price and separate availability evidence dated to the offer.

Comparing cash and installment terms on different apartments

What it costsA price difference gets blamed on financing even though floor, size or fit-out may be driving it.

What to do insteadCompare two seller calculations for the same apartment on the same quote date.

Adding one universal tax-and-fee percentage

What it costsThe budget can absorb inapplicable charges, expired incentives or costs already included in the quote.

What to do insteadEach compulsory amount needs a payer, legal or contractual basis, effective date and an included-versus-extra label.

Is there a specific unit actually available at the “from” price?

A “from” price becomes useful for a real budget only when a real apartment sits behind it. In 20 of 25 offers (80%), the lowest or promoted amount could be connected to at least a unit type, size or specific listing. Separate public evidence of current availability was visible for only 12 of 25 (48%). The remaining pages could still show detailed unit tables and sold-rate data, but that does not establish that the cheapest advertised apartment can be selected today.

Anata Residence is unusually explicit because the page combines a general starting price with coded available units. The cheapest displayed studio was $40,793, below the $46,793 starting figure. That does not prove the headline is wrong; the two numbers may belong to different pricing rules, offer dates or product definitions. It does show why a buyer budget should follow the specific apartment code and dated quotation rather than the first number on the page.

G.A.T.O Tower presents a different version of the same issue. Its developer table starts a studio at $98,890, while the current inventory block shows a 31 m² studio at $98,115. Kingston Royale’s live one-bedroom at $52,500 sits below the bottom of its published developer-table range. At UC88 Wyndham Garden BKK1, a $150,000 page headline, an approximately $160,264 studio table entry and a current $150,000 studio coexist. Those examples make a simple point: a lower number can be real, but its relationship to the standard price table needs to be identified.

The reverse pattern also occurs. A project can advertise a low floor without exposing a current apartment at that number. Time Square 7 carries a project-level starting figure and a one-bedroom table beginning around $50,000, yet the captured public page does not establish a live developer unit at that exact floor. Yuetai’s visible current sale listings begin above the bottom of the project’s studio range. Neither situation proves that the lower stock never existed; it may have sold, been reserved, been temporarily removed from public inventory or simply not be exposed by the page.

If current availability cannot be confirmed publicly, the correct conclusion is simply “unknown”; it does not prove that the apartment is sold or that the advertised price is misleading. Twenty-three of 25 pages displayed a readable update marker, and all 25 offers were rechecked on 29 September 2026. A fresh page timestamp still dates the page, not a commitment that one particular apartment remains available. On that basis, 20 offers provide enough detail to reconstruct part of the buyer’s commitment, five remain only advertised entry prices, and none discloses every compulsory transaction element needed for a complete total.

Three amounts to establish before reserving

1
Entry

Reservation cash

Tie the amount, refund conditions and purchase-price credit to a specific available unit.

2
Signing

Total paid by contract signing

Count all money due by this date after recognising any reservation credit.

3
After signing

Remaining price and compulsory extras

Show later due dates, the unpaid price and disclosed extras; unresolved items stay in the budget.

Which compulsory amounts sit outside the advertised price

The weakest part of public disclosure is not usually the apartment price or even the down payment; it is the money around the transaction. None of the 25 offers published a complete set of compulsory one-off buyer charges in a form that could safely be added to a specific apartment price and treated as the full purchase commitment. That is not evidence that every project has hidden fees. It only means the public record is insufficient to prove which extra charges exist, who bears them and how much they are in each transaction.

Eight of the 25 pages did disclose adjacent costs such as management fees, parking, water, electricity or, in the case of Grand Condo 7, a sinking-fund line. Most of those figures belong to ongoing ownership or building operations, not the one-time acquisition budget. They should not be folded into the purchase commitment automatically. Furniture, legal review and bank charges are also buyer-specific unless the selected package or financing route makes them compulsory.

The relevant one-off list is narrower and more demanding: a non-creditable reservation or administration fee, buyer-paid registration or transfer amounts, a compulsory sinking fund, meter connection charges, a mandatory furniture package, or financing fees and insurance that are conditions of the chosen loan. If a public source does not say who pays a charge or whether it is already included, the correct code is unknown—not zero and not a market-average substitute.

Tax treatment is the clearest reason not to use a universal percentage. As of 29 September 2026, Cambodia’s General Department of Taxation lists Notice No. 008 MEF.S.N.N dated 4 August 2026 on real-estate stamp-duty exemptions and preferential policies as valid. The same official register also lists Prakas No. 577 MEF.Prk.GDT dated 19 September 2024 on stamp duty as valid. A 2025 article may still be useful for understanding cost categories, but its incentive wording cannot simply be carried into a 2026 buyer budget; the applicable rule, tax base, payer and any seller absorption need to be checked for the actual transaction.

That is also how the IPS “True Cost of Ownership” article is used here. It provides a useful map of possible costs but includes 2025-specific tax discussion and broad estimates for items such as administration, utilities, fit-out and management. Those estimates were not converted into an automatic surcharge across the 25 project offers. Doing so would create false precision where the contract and current tax treatment are the controlling evidence.

A workable buyer calculation gives every line one status: included in the apartment price, compulsory and additional, conditional on the selected financing route, recurring ownership cost, or still unknown pending the contract. Until every material compulsory line has one of those statuses, even a complete installment schedule is not the same thing as the buyer’s final transaction budget.

Request one cost schedule instead of several headline figures

Request one cost schedule instead of several headline figures
  • Please identify the available unit, total price and offer expiry date.
  • Please supply the dated payment schedule and show how the reservation is credited.
  • List compulsory one-off charges and fit-out: what is included, who pays separately and which amounts remain unresolved.

Questions buyers still ask

If the unit behind the ‘from’ price cannot be found, does that make the advert wrong?

Not automatically. The cheapest unit may have sold, been reserved, belonged to an earlier price sheet or simply not be exposed in the current public inventory. For budgeting purposes, however, the “from” figure remains only a reference until it is tied to a specific available apartment and a dated quote.

Is the booking fee normally credited toward the purchase price?

Both structures exist, so it is unsafe to build a budget around a universal assumption. A reservation amount appeared in 12/25 offers, but only 2/12 explicitly said it would be deducted from the down payment. Where the treatment is unstated, the correct result is an unresolved cash-to-contract amount, not an assumed credit or extra charge.

Should buyers add one standard tax-and-fee percentage to every Cambodia condo?

No single percentage is reliable across all transactions. Tax treatment and incentives can depend on the date, property and transaction structure, while some seller quotations may already absorb particular charges. The GDT register shows a valid 4 August 2026 notice on real-estate stamp-duty relief, so 2025 rules should not be reused as a current blanket calculator.

Can a cash price and an installment price be compared fairly?

Yes, provided both quotes refer to the same apartment on the same date. The comparison needs the base price, discount, compulsory package and final payment—not just the financing rate. Public plans at Silvertown, Odom Living and Diamond Bay Garden show that different upfront commitments can carry different discounts, so a “0%” label does not capture the full economics.

Expert view

Elvira Shamuratova

The number I would rank above any marketing headline is the dated total for one specific apartment: its current price, cash due by the sale-and-purchase agreement, and the remaining contractual balance. A small reservation fee can be perfectly normal when it clearly secures a defined unit and its treatment in the next payment is stated. The problem is not that the first payment is low; it is that buyers can mistake it for affordability when the next large payment or the final commitment is still unclear. Where cash and installment plans carry different discounts, the payment route has to be compared on the same apartment and the same quote date. Until those pieces line up, an advertised entry figure is a lead to investigate, not a finished purchase budget.

Elvira Shamuratova
NovAsia Cambodia expert
Expert profile →

Sources and check dates

Show sources and methodology5 checked sources
  • IPS Cambodia — Anata Residence Condominium

    Starting price, reservation, 10% down payment, current units and the $46,793 versus $40,793 studio discrepancy.

  • Realestate.com.kh — G.A.T.O Tower

    Developer unit table, live listings and multiple payment plans; the page contains both $98,115 and $98,890 entry figures.

  • Realestate.com.kh — Yuetai Phnom Penh Harbour

    Unit-type price ranges, $2,000 reservation, several down-payment options and current listings.

  • Realestate.com.kh — Silvertown Metropolitan

    Available unit types, $2,000 reservation explicitly credited to the deposit, and plans with 10%, 7% and 4% discounts.

  • Realestate.com.kh — Sky Villa

    Unit pricing, a $20,000 reservation and 40–50% deposit routes explicitly deducting the reservation from the deposit.

A practical second opinion

Need to check a specific condo?

Send the unit link, price and your goal. We will separate the documented facts from the points that still need a unit-level check.

What to send: link, budget and target date