Bangkok Condo Floor Plans and Usable Space
Published · Updated
Quick — 10-second read
The conclusion and the next practical check.
- In short
- The same quoted area does not guarantee the same amount of practically usable space. A fair comparison starts with the source of the area figure and the dimensions that are actually published; missing measurements should not be reverse-engineered from an image.
- Next step
- For two or three shortlisted units, line up the contract or official area with the published plan, record every stated dimension, and leave undisclosed measurements as unknown. Only then compare price per square metre or whether the layout can accommodate your furniture.
What the quoted condo area actually represents
A 32 sq m figure can appear on a project website, a type plan, a sale contract and a registered condominium document. Those are not interchangeable. A marketing plan can show how a unit is arranged, but it does not by itself establish the measurement basis for a particular unit or prove that the figure will remain unchanged through completion.
Thailand's Department of Lands requires condominium registration plans to identify unit dimensions and area, together with information separating private and common property. That gives a registered plan a different evidential role from a sales image. An official developer plan is still useful, but it should not be treated as though it were automatically the registered drawing for the unit being bought.
The standard Aor. Chor. 22 condominium sale agreement uses unit area and a price-per-square-metre basis and provides for a price adjustment where the completed area differs from the contractual figure. The operative document for an individual purchase is the signed agreement, including its wording on area and any adjustment mechanism.
A July 16, 2026 Department of Lands answer illustrates why broad shortcuts are risky. Under the rule discussed there, an exterior wall at the building edge by a balcony is treated as common property and excluded from the unit area. That narrow example does not justify a universal claim that balconies, all walls or every project's area calculation follow one simple rule.
The quoted number becomes much more useful once its source and document stage are known. Where the composition of the area is not disclosed, it is safer to leave that point unresolved than to relabel the figure as pure interior space or subtract building elements by assumption.
Which published floor plans are genuinely comparable
A shared label such as “1 Bedroom” is not enough to make two condos comparable. The minimum useful context is the project, the exact unit type, the quoted area, the source of the plan and its version or date. A pre-launch drawing and a later project drawing may differ because they are different documents, not because one layout is inherently more space-efficient.
The examples on this page cover 20 non-duplicated unit types across six projects and three developers: NIA by Sansiri, THE BASE Urban Rama 9, Ideo Ramkhamhaeng–Lamsali Station, Ideo Chula–Samyan, Culture Thonglor and RHYTHM Ekkamai Estate. They span compact units below 30 sq m, the common 30–40 sq m band, larger layouts around 40–50 sq m and two-bedroom units above 50 sq m. Mirrored versions of the same geometry are not counted as new evidence, while hybrid, loft and duplex formats are kept distinct from conventional single-level plans.
THE BASE Urban Rama 9 shows why versioning matters: its published Type 1A plan states 27–28 sq m and is dated April 30, 2025. NIA's official brochure separately identifies Type 1A at 22.75 sq m and Type 1C at 34.75 sq m. Those are useful area disclosures, yet the public drawings do not provide a complete set of wall-to-wall room dimensions from which interior allocation could be reconstructed reliably.
The Ananda projects disclose similarly specific headline areas: 31 sq m for the hybrid B1H-1L at Ideo Ramkhamhaeng–Lamsali Station, 34.5 sq m for a standard one-bedroom at Ideo Chula–Samyan, and 32 sq m for a one-bedroom at Culture Thonglor. AP Thailand lists 35 sq m for a one-bedroom and 40 sq m for a one-bedroom-plus at RHYTHM Ekkamai Estate. These figures support a comparison of quoted size, but an undimensioned drawing is still not a measuring instrument.
That is why several rows below say “not disclosed” under dimensions. The missing value is itself useful information: the public plan supports a headline-area comparison, but not a calculated usable-area ratio. A stronger spatial comparison becomes possible only when both the area basis and the measurements are genuinely comparable.
Comparable floor plans: what the documents disclose
A short view of officially published plans. Area figures come from project sources; dimensions are never inferred from image proportions.
| Plan | Area & basis | Verifiable dimensions |
|---|---|---|
| NIA — 1A | 22.75 sq m · official brochure | Not disclosed |
| THE BASE Urban Rama 9 — 1A | 27–28 sq m · plan dated 30 Apr 2025 | Not disclosed |
| Ideo Ramkhamhaeng–Lamsali — B1H-1L | 31 sq m · official plan, hybrid | Levels shown; dimensions not disclosed |
| Culture Thonglor — 1 Bedroom | 32 sq m · official project page | Not disclosed |
| NIA — 1C | 34.75 sq m · official brochure | Not disclosed |
| RHYTHM Ekkamai Estate — 1 Bedroom | 35 sq m · official project page | Not disclosed |
| NIA — 2A | 48 sq m · official brochure | Not disclosed |
| THE BASE Urban Rama 9 — 2C | 58 sq m · official plan | Not disclosed |
Where the square metres go: balconies, circulation and geometry
Headline area says little about how space is distributed inside the unit. THE BASE Urban Rama 9 Type 1A visibly separates the bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and balcony, yet the public drawing does not provide dimensions that would let a buyer calculate how much of the stated 27–28 sq m belongs to each zone. NIA plans have the same limitation: the shape and furniture are visible, but balcony or circulation area cannot be derived from the image by proportion.
Geometry can still matter without being converted into a made-up efficiency score. An entry run, door swing, recess or projecting element can change furniture placement and walking routes. Those features may be described when they are visible, but centimetres should not be attached to them unless the source supplies a scale or dimension line.
Hybrid layouts need their own category. Ideo Ramkhamhaeng–Lamsali Station's B1H-1L is quoted at 31 sq m and is presented with lower and upper levels. Treating it as directly equivalent to an ordinary 31–32 sq m single-level one-bedroom would ignore a basic difference in how the space is organised.
A balcony or corridor is not automatically wasted space. One buyer may actively want an outdoor area; another may value a wider room for a desk or wardrobe. The plan can show where these zones exist, but it cannot establish their exact area or their personal value when the measurements are not published.
Can standard furniture fit the stated dimensions
Furniture becomes a useful test only when the drawing provides an actual wall length or clear dimension. Concrete reference sizes are more helpful than the phrase “standard furniture”: a 150 × 200 cm queen mattress, an IKEA VIHALLS frame with a 156 × 206 cm footprint, a KLIPPAN two-seat sofa at 180 × 88 cm, a 120 × 60 cm LAGKAPTEN/ADILS desk, or a 140 × 78 cm LISABO dining table. These are reference products, not universal standards.
THE BASE Urban Rama 9 Type 1A shows a bed on the plan, but it does not publish the adjacent wall width. That means the drawing cannot confirm whether a 156 × 206 cm bed frame would fit with the circulation space a particular buyer wants. The bed symbol communicates a proposed arrangement; it is not a dimension.
NIA Type 1C and other undimensioned plans have the same constraint. Furniture drawn to look plausible on a sales plan should not be used as a substitute scale, even when the proportions appear convincing.
Once a source supplies a real wall dimension, the test is straightforward: compare the furniture footprint with that dimension, then assess door opening and circulation separately where the plan gives enough information. Without that measurement, a specific fit cannot be confirmed from the published plan.
Unit measurement passport
Area source
- Area stated in the sale contract
- Area on the developer's official plan
- Registered area, where the document is available
- Date or version of each source
- Whether the figures agree across documents
What the plan discloses
- Labelled room or wall dimensions
- Scale or dimension lines
- Clearly identified balcony
- Doors, circulation, columns and shafts
- Furniture shown as illustration versus dimensioned furniture
What still needs confirmation
- Which areas make up the quoted figure
- Final area of the completed unit
- Dimensions of unlabelled spaces
- Changes since the version used at reservation
- Whether price per sq m uses the same area basis
What remains unknown until documents and measurement
Even an official developer plan can be preliminary. Sansiri's plan pages expressly warn that layouts and areas may change without prior notice. That does not make the plan useless, but it does mean the image should not be treated as the final measured record of a particular unit.
Most uncertainty sits in what the drawing never labels. A plan may quote total area to a fraction of a square metre while leaving bedroom width, recess depth, balcony size or clear circulation unmeasured. Reverse-calculating those values from a JPG creates only the appearance of precision because the scale, image distortion and construction thicknesses are unknown.
For an off-plan purchase, the important sequence is the preliminary figure, the signed contract and then the final project documents. The standard Aor. Chor. 22 form provides for a price adjustment when the completed area changes, but the outcome for a buyer depends on the actual signed agreement and the final area of that unit. A completed condo also needs its documents and an on-site inspection or measurement; the old marketing plan does not replace either.
A fair comparison therefore stops at a common evidential level. A unit with contractual area plus published dimensions and a unit with only a headline area plus an image can be shown side by side, but they cannot support equally precise conclusions about interior space.
Questions about Bangkok condo areas and floor plans
Does the quoted area mean only the interior room space?
No. That assumption is not reliable without the documents for the particular unit. The source of the number and the division between private and common property both matter. A Department of Lands answer concerning an exterior balcony-edge wall shows that some building elements may be common property, but it does not create a universal rule for every wall or balcony. The applicable unit documents are the proper basis for the purchase.
Why not calculate usable area from a floor-plan image?
An image without a reliable scale is not a measurement. Publication can alter proportions, wall and structural thicknesses may be unknown, and the drawing itself may be preliminary. Furniture symbols are not calibration marks either. Pixel-based calculations can therefore produce a precise-looking number with no documentary basis.
Can price per square metre be compared when projects describe area differently?
Only after establishing that the denominator is comparable. The same “price divided by sq m” formula does not remove differences in what the area includes or at what stage it was recorded. A contractual area and an unexplained marketing figure can make price-per-square-metre comparisons look more exact than they are. If the bases cannot be aligned, the limitation should remain visible.
What should be checked if the completed unit area differs from the contract?
Start by comparing the area in the signed contract with the final area recorded for the specific unit. The standard Aor. Chor. 22 form provides for a price adjustment when completed area is higher or lower than the contractual figure, but the buyer's actual agreement governs how that mechanism applies. The relevant price-per-square-metre term and the project documents at handover also matter. This describes the standard contract framework, not the outcome of an individual dispute.
Expert view

Two condos can both be advertised at 32 sq m and still offer very different evidence about how that space is arranged. I would start with the area source and any published room dimensions before paying attention to furniture drawn on the plan. If one plan gives a bedroom width and the other only shows a bed icon, those two drawings do not support the same level of confidence. A balcony may be valuable to one buyer and less useful to another, but its size should not be guessed from the image. Once the published measurements stop, the comparison should stop too.
Mark ErometskiyNovAsia Thailand expert
Expert profile →Sources and check dates
Show sources and methodology5 checked sources+
- Department of Lands — Condominium registration documents
Supports the registration-plan requirements for unit dimensions and area, unit identification, and the separation of private and common property. It does not establish that a public marketing plan is identical to the registered plan.
- Department of Lands — Condominium Unit Sales Agreement (Aor. Chor. 22)
The standard agreement referenced for unit area, price per square metre and the mechanism for adjusting price when completed area differs from the contractual figure. An individual buyer's signed contract governs the actual transaction.
- Official Thai market source
A secondary legal source quoting clause 3 of the Aor. Chor. 22 form on adjusting price when the completed unit area increases or decreases. It corroborates the form's mechanism and does not replace a buyer's actual agreement.
Original title: NIDA — แนวทางในการปรับปรุงเพิ่มเติมแบบสัญญาจะซื้อจะขายห้องชุด (อ.ช.22) - Department of Lands — Q2606-000223
Official July 16, 2026 answer concerning an exterior wall at a balcony edge: under the rule discussed, the element is common property and excluded from unit area. It does not establish a universal rule for all walls or balconies.
- NIA by Sansiri — Official brochure
Publishes NIA unit types and areas including 1A at 22.75 sq m, 1C at 34.75 sq m, 2A at 48 sq m and 2C at 54.75 sq m, together with a warning that layouts and areas may change. The public drawings do not provide a complete set of room dimensions.
Useful next reading
A practical second opinion
Need to check a specific condo?
Send the unit link, price and your goal. We will separate the documented facts from the points that still need a unit-level check.
What to send: link, budget and target date